My SEATTLE weather experience so far

Let’s be honest;this is my first real experience of all the seasons .While I might not have been fully prepared for it ,there are some highlights ;both good and bad.

I moved to Seattle in September and boy did I enjoy the tail end of summer .Sooner than expected Autumn was already here .Unexpected rain showers ,cooler weather ,short days but Seattle’s views remained breathtaking nonetheless.

Oh damn !”Winter is here already !” My Kenyan self was amazed at snow falling but very frustrated on how inconvenient moving around was . Good thing ,in Seattle ,seems like snow is a new phenomenon so it just lasted for two weeks…hurray ! But boy my skin dried out ,I had to get into a new skin regimen ,of course my face reacted to the change and at some point I’d feel my face tighten and for the first time I had my skin break out !

Did I mention that there were longer hours of darkness than daylight too !You think you’d sleep …I thought so too until it dawned to me I’m in America and the weather is no excuse ,lf you need to go to work ,oh Chile! You’ll have to brave the weather and go !

Fast forward to spring !I like saying spring weather in Seattle is just bipolar point black period . I mean one minute it’s warm ,next it’s cool before you know it’s raining and before you get your umbrella out the sun is scorching !The best thing about spring though is the view…the cherry blossoms 😌are so pretty .For a long time too I wondered why people in the diaspora were adorned in fur coats and it looked like the sun was always shining 🤦‍♀️now we know

Now we are almost officially in summer and I’m just excited about the fashion choices I’m about to experiment really …you know…some really cool rugged jeans ,biker shorts ,really cool tees I mean can you feel me ? On the flip side ,I’m worried on how my face will look like for starters ,thinking of including serums and hydrating gels and sunscreen in my facial routines ….New makeup for this weather too ?I can’t keep up with all these seasons .I miss when I could barely tell the difference between weather seasons at home yoh!

Daylight is more than darkness too !We are just days shy off summer but at 5:00am there’s so much daylight already and you get darkness way after 9:00pm !Maybe this is the only time my Geography classes make sense ;the summer solstice and all ….

Xoxo With love ;Wahito

Leave a comment